Stages of Mourning | Black's Funeral Home | Thurmont, MD Funeral Home and Cremation

Stages of Mourning

Avelut, a Hebrew word meaning "lamenting," refers to the mourning period following interment. A mourner during this period is called an avel. Avelut, which follows aninut, encompasses the mourning customs of shivah, sheloshim, and, when a parent has died, the entire twelve-month mourning period.

In this section

Funeral Customs


Stages of Mourning

All Wood Caskets

© 2024 Black's Funeral Home P.A.. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS & TA | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility